A Chinese archway to the Yueh Hai Ching Temple (meaning 'temple of the calm sea') at Phillip Street. The temple stands as a reminder of early days of Chinese migrants. This one was first built in 1826 by Teochew migrants, traders and sailors to thank the goddess of the sea for their safe arrival by sea to Nanyang (Southeast Asia). The temple was rebuilt in 1895. Its architecture is a cultural touchstone compared to the tall office towers in the heart of the financial district.